Your vehicle’s test cycle is determined in accordance with state and federal requirements. You should receive an official notification notice (postcard) within 45 days before your vehicle’s test due date.
Your current mailing address is needed to notify you; please be sure DMV has your most current address. Check the address on your vehicle registration. If it is incorrect you must, by law, correct it. You can download the required form by clicking here or visit any DMV branch office.
If you purchase a vehicle from an authorized Connecticut dealer, the vehicle must be emissions compliant at the time of the sale. You can verify the expiration date by entering the vehicle’s Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) below.
If you purchase a vehicle from a private individual and the vehicle was previously registered in Connecticut, you will not receive a notification notice. However, it is your responsibility to have your vehicle tested within 30 days of registering it in your name, with or without a notification letter.
If you purchase a vehicle out of state, it must be emission compliant prior to you registering the vehicle unless the vehicle is exempt; click here for more information on exempted vehicles.
If you do not have the vehicle tested, it does not pass or has not been granted a waiver within the testing cycle, DMV will not renew the vehicle’s registration.
Test Date/ Email Reminder
To search for your vehicle’s test due date or to request an email reminder for your vehicle’s due date, enter the 17 digit Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) below. The VIN number can be found on your vehicle’s registration document, title or the vehicle itself. For accurate results please enter ones and zeros in lieu of the letters (i) and (o). Contact the motorist hotline at 1-888-828-8399 if you have questions.